John Nurnberger

  • Joyce & Iver Small Professor of Psychiatry, Psychiatry
  • 37606 Citations
  • 94 h-Index
1968 …2020

Research output per year

If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Publications

Filter
Review article
2019

Polygenic risk scores in psychiatry: Will they be useful for clinicians? [version 1; peer review: 4 approved]

Fullerton, J. M. & Nurnberger, J. I., Jan 1 2019, In : F1000Research. 8, 1293.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

Open Access
3 Scopus citations

What should a psychiatrist know about genetics? Review and recommendations from the residency education committee of the international society of psychiatric genetics

Nurnberger, J. I., Austin, J., Berrettini, W. H., Besterman, A. D., DeLisi, L. E., Grice, D. E., Kennedy, J. L., Moreno-De-Luca, D., Potash, J. B., Ross, D. A., Schulze, T. G. & Zai, G., Jan 2019, In : Journal of Clinical Psychiatry. 80, 1

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

7 Scopus citations
2017

Autism genetics: Opportunities and challenges for clinical translation

Vorstman, J. A. S., Parr, J. R., Moreno-De-Luca, D., Anney, R. J. L., Nurnberger, J. I. & Hallmayer, J. F., Jun 1 2017, In : Nature Reviews Genetics. 18, 6, p. 362-376 15 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

112 Scopus citations
2014

Genetics of Alcoholism

Iyer-Eimerbrink, P. A. & Nurnberger, J. I., Jan 1 2014, In : Current psychiatry reports. 16, 12, 518.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

8 Scopus citations
2012

Measuring alcohol consumption for genomic meta-analyses of alcohol intake: Opportunities and challenges

Agrawal, A., Freedman, N. D., Cheng, Y. C., Lin, P., Shaffer, J. R., Sun, Q., Taylor, K., Yaspan, B., Cole, J. W., Cornelis, M. C., DeSensi, R. S., Fitzpatrick, A., Heiss, G., Kang, J. H., O'Connell, J., Bennett, S., Bookman, E., Bucholz, K. K., Caporaso, N., Crout, R. & 18 others, Dick, D. M., Edenberg, H. J., Goate, A., Hesselbrock, V., Kittner, S., Kramer, J., Nurnberger, J. I., Qi, L., Rice, J. P., Schuckit, M., Van Dam, R. M., Boerwinkle, E., Hu, F., Levy, S., Marazita, M., Mitchell, B. D., Pasquale, L. R. & Bierut, L. J., Mar 1 2012, In : American Journal of Clinical Nutrition. 95, 3, p. 539-547 9 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

27 Scopus citations
2009

Dissecting the phenotype in genome-wide association studies of psychiatric illness

Craddock, N., Kendler, K., Neale, M., Nurnberger, J., Purcell, S., Rietschel, M., Perlis, R., Santangelo, S. L., Schulze, T., Smoller, J. W. & Thapar, A., Aug 1 2009, In : British Journal of Psychiatry. 195, 2, p. 97-99 3 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

48 Scopus citations

Genomewide Association Studies: History, Rationale, and Prospects for Psychiatric Disorders

Cichon, S., Craddock, N., Daly, M., Faraone, S. V., Gejman, P. V., Kelsoe, J., Lehner, T., Levinson, D. F., Moran, A., Sklar, P., Sullivan, P. F., Anney, R., Gill, M., Corvin, A., Buitelaar, J., Franke, B., Elia, J., Hakonarson, H., Kent, L., McGough, J. & 103 others, Smalley, S., Ophoff, R., Mick, E., Santangelo, S., Ferreira, M., Purcell, S., Ruderfer, D., Smoller, J., Perlis, R., Neale, B., Stone, J., Nisenbaum, L., Thapar, A., Moskvina, V., Holmans, P., O'Donovan, M., Owen, M., Todd, R., Todorov, A., Rice, J., Devlin, B., Arking, D., Chakravarti, A., Potash, J. B., Pulver, A., Buxbaum, J. D., Cook, E., Peltonen, L., Suvisaari, J., Piven, J., Lin, D., Sullivan, P., Rouleau, G., Awadalla, P., Schellenberg, G., Scherer, S., Sutcliffe, J., Szatmari, P., Vieland, V., Andreassen, O. A., Frigessi, A., Blackwood, D., Muir, W., Boehnke, M., Burmeister, M., Flickinger, M., Guan, W., Li, J., Scott, L., Breuer, R., Rietschel, M., Schulze, T., Greenwood, T., Schork, N., Gurling, H., Muglia, P., Upmanyu, R., Tozzi, F., Noethen, M., Wienker, T., Steffens, M., Nurnberger, J., Kendler, K., Riley, B., van den Oord, E., Boomsma, D., de Geus, E., Hoogendijk, W., Penninx, B., Willemsen, A. H. M., Posthuma, D., Coryell, W., Hamilton, S., Kloiber, S., Lucae, S., Ripke, S., Lawson, W. B., Lewis, C., McGuffin, P., Martin, N., Wray, N., McGrath, P., Weissman, M. M., Offord, J., Scheftner, W. A., Slager, S., Fanous, A., Hultman, C., Kivikko, S., Laurent, C., Lencz, T., Malhotra, A., Mowry, B., Holliday, E., Sanders, A., Schwab, S., Wildenaver, D., St. Clair, D., Dudbridge, F., Pickering, E., Posthuma, D., Sebat, J. & Tzeng, J. Y., May 1 2009, In : American Journal of Psychiatry. 166, 5, p. 540-556 17 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

308 Scopus citations
2007

Convergent Functional Genomics of bipolar disorder: From animal model pharmacogenomics to human genetics and biomarkers

Le-Niculescu, H., McFarland, M. J., Mamidipalli, S., Ogden, C. A., Kuczenski, R., Kurian, S. M., Salomon, D. R., Tsuang, M. T., Nurnberger, J. I. & Niculescu, A. B., Aug 27 2007, In : Neuroscience and Biobehavioral Reviews. 31, 6, p. 897-903 7 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

41 Scopus citations

Seeking the connections: Alcoholism and our genes

Nurnberger, J. I. & Bierut, L. J., Apr 2007, In : Scientific American. 296, 4, p. 46-53 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

18 Scopus citations
2006

Molecular genetics of bipolar disorder

Hayden, E. P. & Nurnberger, J. I., Feb 1 2006, In : Genes, Brain and Behavior. 5, 1, p. 85-95 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

87 Scopus citations
2005

Long-term stability of alcohol and other substance dependence diagnoses and habitual smoking: An evaluation after 5 years

Culverhouse, R., Bucholz, K. K., Crowe, R. R., Hesselbrock, V., Nurnberger, J. I., Porjesz, B., Schuckit, M. A., Reich, T. & Bierut, L. J., Jul 1 2005, In : Archives of general psychiatry. 62, 7, p. 753-760 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

30 Scopus citations

The relationship between parental psychopathology and adolescent psychopathology: An examination of gender patterns

Ohannessian, C. M. C., Hesselbrock, V. M., Kramer, J., Kuperman, S., Bucholz, K. K., Schuckit, M. A. & Nurnberger, J. I., Jan 1 2005, In : Journal of Emotional and Behavioral Disorders. 13, 2, p. 67-76 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

50 Scopus citations
2004

Research provides direction in ongoing search for genetic links to bipolar disorder

Nurnberger, J. I. & Foround, T., Jan 2004, In : Psychiatric Annals. 34, 1, p. 21-28 8 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

2000

Genetics of bipolar affective disorder.

Nurnberger, J. I. & Foroud, T., Apr 2000, In : Current psychiatry reports. 2, 2, p. 147-157 11 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

43 Scopus citations
1994

Diagnostic interview for genetic studies: Rationale, unique features, and training

Nurnberger, J. I., Blehar, M. C., Kaufmann, C. A., York-Cooler, C., Simpson, S. G., Harkavy-Friedman, J., Severe, J. B., Malaspina, D., Reich, T., Miller, M., Bowman, E. S., DePaulo, J. R., Cloninger, C. R., Robinson, G., Moldin, S., Gershon, E. S., Maxwell, M. E., Guroff, J. J. & Kirch, D., Jan 1 1994, In : Archives of general psychiatry. 51, 11, p. 849-859+863-864

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

1659 Scopus citations

Is cholinergic sensitivity a genetic marker for the affective disorders?

Janowsky, D. S., Overstreet, D. H. & Nurnberger, J. I., Dec 1 1994, In : American Journal of Medical Genetics. 54, 4, p. 335-344 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

114 Scopus citations
1992

Should a biologic marker be sensitive and specific?

Nurnberger, J. I., Jul 1992, In : Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica. 86, 1, p. 1-4 4 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

20 Scopus citations
1987

The role of molecular genetics in psychiatry

Gershon, E. S., Merril, C. R., Goldin, L. R., DeLisi, L. E., Berrettini, W. H. & Nurnberger, J. I., Nov 1987, In : Biological psychiatry. 22, 11, p. 1388-1405 18 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

16 Scopus citations
1986

Clinical methods in psychiatric genetics: II. The high risk approach

Goldin, L. R., Nurnberger, J. I. & Gershon, E. S., Aug 1986, In : Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica. 74, 2, p. 119-128 10 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article

10 Scopus citations
1982

Inheritance of major psychiatric disorders

Gershon, E. S. & Nurnberger, J. I., 1982, In : Trends in Neurosciences. 5, C, p. 241-242 2 p.

Research output: Contribution to journalReview article